Making Laundry Detergent!

Yay!  I FINALLY found washing soda (not the same as baking soda) so that I can make my own laundry detergent.  I have a few recipes that I want to try…this one is the famous “Duggar Recipe” that almost everyone has heard of.  I could not find the Fels Naptha soap for this time, so I’m using Ivory.

I love the smell of Ivory.  It totally reminds me of my grandma…because a bath at her house meant Ivory soap, then standing there giggling as she absolutely covered us with powder (from a poof).  That woman loved her powder.

Anyway, it was very easy to put together, and I’ll give it a try in laundry tomorrow.  I’ve been saving my old detergent bottles, and I’m going to put different essential oils in each one (and one with none at all) and see which one I like the best.

I also found a great place online to order the Fels Naptha soap…so I went ahead and did that.  $11 for 7 bars, shipped.

My whole house smells good now.  I hope tomorrow my clothes will smell this good (and look clean)!

This entry was published on March 3, 2009 at 11:37 am and is filed under Crafts, Helpful Hints, House and Home. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Making Laundry Detergent!

  1. Little Brother on said:

    I hadn’t thought about baths at Grandma’s in years…. I can totally remember the smell of that powder and getting dusted head to toe with that big poof…

  2. I can’t wait to hear the results. I’m reading their book right now and wanted to try the soap recipe. Including the Ivory soap, how much would you say it cost to make and how much did you make?

Leave a Reply

